Be still.

It rained all night and it didn’t look like it was going to let up during the day. Honeybun forced Georgia out for her morning constitutional. She’s not keen on wind or rain.
When they returned Honeybun said a fawn was curled up in the tall grass on the side of the driveway. “Georgia almost stepped on it. I don’t think she knew what it was”,  he said.

The mother probably got spooked when she saw the human and the dog start down the road. Rather than urge her little fellow to follow on wobbly legs, she had him lie quietly as she bounded off in another direction. That’s what doe do; they become the target for a predator. Fawn are born without a scent so will often go unnoticed.

It’s hard to imagine the conversation.

“Hold it! I hear something. Lie down and stay still. I’ll be back later” says the Mom.

“Wait! You’re leaving me HERE?” cries the babe.

“Trust me, I’ll be back.”

“If you say so….”

 
Georgia and I stayed inside as the storm settled in around us. By late afternoon I forced her out again. Considering I used the bathroom at least five times by then she must have been bursting. Nonetheless it took some coaxing.

I was afraid to see if the fawn was still there. It was miserable out. Finally curiosity got the better of me so we circled from the field and back up the driveway. Georgia was happy to be heading home so she moved along at a good clip. She showed no signs of searching or finding that creature from the morning. “Please God, let it be gone” I prayed. No such luck. There it was, a curled up, drenched, slow breathing, beautiful animal. I attempted nonchalance as I scurried past. That’s my go-to attitude when frightened, unsure or overwhelmed.

I notice it when I meet famous people, I become indifferent, easily unconcerned, acting like it happens every day.

A rockstar was waiting at the same gate as me in O’Hare once. A kid went up and asked “Are you Sting?” “No, I’m Reginald”, he replied. The boy walked away disappointed.  I gave Sting  a Mom look that said “Reginald, really?”.

On meeting Tim Daly I said jauntily, “Oh yes, you are the guy who had the misfortune of speaking after me at the Ted-X event. Hard act to follow.” Incidentally we had that same conversation twice.

Perhaps the fawn was practicing nonchalance with me too. Chances are he was frightened, unsure and overwhelmed. Maybe the mom was as well.

Back inside I checked online to see how long a doe will leave a fawn on it’s own and was reassured that 24 hours was not unusual. It had only been about eight hours so the chance that she would return during the night was good. 

When Honeybun turned into the driveway I started yelling and waving my arms. I’m pretty sure the message “get up here right now” was ignored. For some unknown reason I thought he would step on the fawn, pat it or pick it up. I think I turned into a new, overly protective mother. He just wanted to take a photo.


The next morning returning from their walk Honeybun said the fawn was gone. What a relief.
In our physical yoga practice as well as in daily life we come across postures and situations that may be challenging, scary,  irritating, uncomfortable or confusing. Let’s become like a nonchalant fawn. Be indifferent, unconcerned, accept how we are today. Keep breathing and sit the storm out.  Wait for our metaphorical mothers to come and get us. Maybe that mother is you.

Namaste- Bambi made out AOK.

2 thoughts on “Be still.

Leave a Reply

